Formal implementation of new structures begins



Kathmandu, March 14, The Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development has said the formal implementation of the new structures- metropolis, sub-metropolis, municipality and rural municipality- began formally in line with the federal system on Tuesday.
The executive officers have already been placed in 217 municipalities under the Ministry while works to assign the officers in the remaining 527 units has also begun. The government had recently decided to fix a total of 744 local units across the country.
As per the new set up, the district development committee has been changed into the district coordination committee, and senior VDC secretary has been assigned the duty of officiating executive, said Ministry Spokesperson Kedarnath Sharma.
According to him, the executive officers have reached in most of the districts. The Ministry of General Administration has sent newly recruited 270 section officers as executive officers in the rural municipalities. Similarly, 64 officials promoted to undersecretary have been mobilized in the respective area.
Spokesperson Acharya informed that the Ministry was aware that public service delivery should be prompt, smooth and hassle-free. Direction is issued accordingly, he added.
Meanwhile, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal inaugurated the office of the Lalitpur Metropolis on Tuesday.